australian aviation logo

One week left until aviation awards submissions close

written by Adam Thorn | June 22, 2022

Just over three months ago, Australian Aviation celebrated a new milestone by launching its first-ever Australian Aviation Awards.

With only one week left until submissions close, we are now urging the aviation industry to hurry and enter the awards by Thursday 30 June 2022 to be recognised for their remarkable achievements.

Proudly supported by principal partner the University of New South Wales (UNSW), the inaugural Australian Aviation Awards includes 24 individual and company categories and will culminate in a gala awards ceremony and dinner on Thursday 1 September 2022.

It is open to all businesses and professionals across the sector, irrespective of location, specialisation, affiliation, or alliance.


The last few years have been a roller coaster ride for the aviation industry, as the coronavirus pandemic and associated shutdown of international and interstate borders brought travel to a screeching halt and forced the industry into hibernation.

However, with borders reopened and airports brimming with travellers around Australia, it’s only fitting that the aviation industry celebrates its achievements and innovations that enabled it to survive and thrive during the challenging period.

The inaugural Australian Aviation Awards is an exciting nationwide program that sets the benchmark for excellence in aviation, showcases the outstanding individuals and businesses positively shaping the growth and development of Australia’s aviation industry, and provides them with the recognition they deserve.

The program offers leading professionals and their businesses the opportunity to highlight their achievements (including how they pivoted and adapted during the pandemic), build exposure (particularly as it emerges from a COVID-induced slowdown), and support the expansion of their careers and companies, while forging closer connectivity within the sector.

Some of the categories on offer include Airport of the Year, Defence Support Business of the Year, Aviation Support Business of the Year, Commercial Pilot of the Year, and Female Aviation Leader of the Year (click here to read about five noteworthy female pioneers in the industry who paved the way for future female aviators and leaders).

In addition, engineers, executives, rotary pilots, aviation safety professionals, and recreational pilots are also encouraged to enter in the individual award categories.

The awards are peer-reviewed and judged by a well-regarded and trusted panel.

The gala event will be held in person on Thursday, 1 September 2022 at 7pm in Sydney at The Star, and will present an opportunity for professionals to network with their peers.

To enter the awards, visit the website below to register, download the category criteria, follow the criteria and submit an entry. Finally, simply save and confirm your submission.

Nominations and submissions will close on 30 June 2022.

Click here to submit your entry or nominate a colleague.

For more information about the awards, click here.

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member today!

You don't have credit card details available. You will be redirected to update payment method page. Click OK to continue.