australian aviation logo

WA slams border shut to South Australia

written by Hannah Dowling | November 29, 2021

File image of a Virgin Australia Boeing 737-800 at Perth Airport. (Rob Finlayson)

The Western Australia government has introduced additional border restrictions with South Australia, which will see travellers forced into a 14-day quarantine.

As of 1:15pm on Saturday, WA upgraded South Australia’s border classification from “very low risk” to “low risk”, meaning all arrivals from the state will now be required to enter a 14-day monitored home quarantine.

Anyone who was due to travel from South Australia into WA in the coming days has been contacted to state their existing approval to enter the state has now been cancelled.

It follows previous threats that WA could make the move, after South Australia reopened its borders to NSW and Victoria, and subsequently saw a small spike in COVID-19 cases.

“If you entered Western Australia after 1:15pm on Saturday 27/11/21 and have been in SA since 12:01am Tuesday 23/11/21 you will be required to self-quarantine at a suitable premises for 14 days after you were last in the SA,” WA police said in a text message to South Australian travellers.


“You will also be required to present for COVID-19 testing within 48 hours of your arrival and on Day 12 after you were last in SA.

“Your existing G2G Pass will be rejected. You will be required to submit a new G2G Pass application.”

In light of the border change, WA is now currently only allowing quarantine-free arrivals from Tasmania and Queensland, however Premier Mark McGowan has again stated that this could change, once both states similarly reopen their borders to NSW and Victoria.

“South Australia and shortly Queensland and Tasmania are going to open their borders,” he said.

“We’ve put in place measures with South Australia, if we have to with Queensland and Tasmania, we’ll do the same.”

WA Premier Mark McGowan said over the weekend that the decision was also based on concerns about the new COVID-19 variant, Omicron, which has already been confirmed in a small number of returned overseas travellers in NSW.

“There is a great deal of uncertainty about the recently emerged Omicron variant, so it is important Western Australia has strong protections in place for states which have relaxed their international borders,” Mr McGowan said.

“The new variant emerged in southern Africa and is now understood to have been detected in Europe, Asia and the Middle East.

“With little known about the variant, it is important we act with an abundance of caution in dealing with potential spread into WA from overseas travellers arriving in other states.”

It comes after the federal government introduced a number of new restrictions on overseas arrivals, in light of the discovery of the new Omicron variant of COVID-19.

Under the new restrictions, all international travellers will be forced to get a COVID test upon arrival and self-isolate for 72 hours.

Further, arrivals from nine countries, including South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, Eswatini, The Seychelles, Malawi and Mozambique, will be forced to enter a 14-day hotel quarantine.

Flights from these countries into Australia have been temporarily suspended.

Additionally, all overseas arrivals will now be required to declare a list of all the countries that they have visited within the last 14 days prior to arrival in Australia, on top of existing entry requirements, which include proof of vaccination and a negative PCR test result.

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member today!

Comment (1)

  • Margaret


    Can I still travel

Comments are closed.

You don't have credit card details available. You will be redirected to update payment method page. Click OK to continue.