Close sidebar

Nominations open for Australian Airports Association awards

written by | July 9, 2015

Australian Airports Association logo. (AAA)

The Australian Airports Association (AAA) has added a number of new categories in its annual awards to recognise excellence among the nation’s airports in areas such as customer service, sustainability and commercial development.

The national airport industry awards will in 2015 have new “small regional” and “large regional” categories in a bid to get more participation from regional airports, as well as “Airport Innovation and Excellence Awards”, the AAA said on Thursday.


AAA chief executive Caroline Wilkie said the changes to the award categories helped ensure airports were better recognised.

“Historically, the awards have been for major airport projects such as runways or new terminals,” Wilkie said in a statement.

“The new award criteria recognise that a successful airport operation involves a much wider range of qualities and attributes, including in areas such as customer experience, operations, commercial activity, environmental management, infrastructure development and community engagement.”

Nominations for the AAA’s national airport industry awards are now open and due by August 21.


More details can be found on the AAA website.

The awards will be presented at the AAA national conference, to be held in Hobart between October 12-16.

Sign up to our digital magazine before 30 June and receive a FREE print edition. Starting at just $99.95 a year, you will get the latest news and insights direct to you, including Australia’s most popular print magazine since 1977. Subscribe now at

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Each day, our subscribers are more informed with the right information.

SIGN UP to the Australian Aviation magazine for high-quality news and features for just $99.95 per year