Close sidebar

Hall of Fame names inaugural class

written by | August 27, 2012

The Australian Aviation Hall of Fame will induct an inaugural class of nine aviators at its first annual gala dinner in Wagga Wagga on September 15.

The inductees include box kite pioneer Lawrence Hargrave, Bert Hinkler, Lores Bonney, Sir Charles Kingsford Smith, Sir Ross and Sir Keith Macpherson Smith, Reginald and John Duigan, Sir Norman Brearley and regional airline pioneers Don Kendell and Max Hazelton.

Mr Hazelton will attend the awards along with family representatives of the other inductees, organisers said.


The gala dinner will be held at Joyes Hall on the campus of Charles Sturt University at a time to be determined.

Organisers hope to open a physical hall of fame in Wagga by 2015; in the meantime, the hall will have an online presence.

For just $59.95 a year, you can keep up to date with the very best of Australian Aviation each month, directly via our app! Our app is available on mobile, tablet and PC devices. So what are you waiting for? Go digital with Australian Aviation and read up on all missed special coverage, exclusive photos and editions. Subscribe now at

Each day, our subscribers are more informed with the right information.

SIGN UP to the Australian Aviation magazine for high-quality news and features for just $99.95 per year